Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

FCP HomeHomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

struts and springs vs. coilovers

Go down 
+2
jolly roger
D-Rod
6 posters
AuthorMessage

struts and springs vs. coilovers Empty
PostSubject: struts and springs vs. coilovers   struts and springs vs. coilovers I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 01, 2011 12:02 pm

would like opinions on a classic question, coilovers vs. struts and springs on a 1991 accord se. here's the story bought an apparent p.o.s. as a project car ( Has H22a plans ). had it at the shop and was advised to replace pretty much everything. lol. the front has coilovers and the rear has oem struts. looking for any input from you guys regarding pros and cons of either system. thanks rc-13
Back to top Go down
D-Rod
ADMIN/MODERATOR
D-Rod

PostSubject: Re: struts and springs vs. coilovers   struts and springs vs. coilovers I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 01, 2011 12:20 pm

Im not an expert.....actually I dont know much about the subject at all but I think coilover are a little better and will help eliminate wheelhop as well as better handleing.
Back to top Go down
jolly roger
jolly roger

PostSubject: Re: struts and springs vs. coilovers   struts and springs vs. coilovers I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 01, 2011 1:57 pm

Im not a expert either but i'll go with what d-rod said... I've seen them both used in racing setups..
Back to top Go down
Gixxer
ADMIN/MODERATOR
Gixxer

PostSubject: Re: struts and springs vs. coilovers   struts and springs vs. coilovers I_icon_minitimeTue Mar 01, 2011 4:01 pm

I have dspec struts with epic springs on my wrx. I did this b/c its my dd and i wanted to drop it some but also not affect the ride quality to much. It improved the handling greatly and the g/f doesn't bitch about the ride.

If your wanting to have a more adjustable ride height and dont care about the ride quality then coils are for you.